Skip to content

Todo list: Remember the Milk and pyrtm

25/07/2009

I’m a really forgetful person and for a long time I’ve done a lot of  gaffes with colleagues and customers … really frustrating.

A todo list can solve this kind of problems. Now, what todo list? For Linux there are about ten projects, I found Tasque a good solution but there isn’t an active developement actually.

The strenght of tasque is the integration with Remember The Milk,  a web-based todo list with a comfortable API for programmers.  So you can have different applications (in different operating systems and in different devices.. such as cell-phones) that interfaces with the same web database.

Personally I think that this is a really good idea, I simply love web services  expecially for a thing like a task-list: I can’t and I don’t want to bring my laptop here and there just because I don’t remember what I have to do in my life (poor me :().

You can use remember the milk from the nice web-interface. It”s straightforward to learn and has a lot of killer-features such as:

  • contacts : to remember your girlfriend that she have to prepare a delicious dinner for you.
  • ready to print tasks: you can print and check your list.
  • locations: ok nice but not so killer.
  • date:  you type “today” or “tomorrow” and the program understand what do you mean!
  • priority, url notes ecc ecc..

The applications that interfaces them with remember the mik (rtm for friends) doesn’t provide all of this features, and I don’t know why… But at least you are every moment well syncronized and you can access when you want to your tasks.

In addition, stay tuned,  this smart guy and me will develop a nice task list rtm-based! (Ok ok, it isn’t exciting for you but it is for me…)

We want to develop it in python using the almost resurrected pyrtm project. Of course, everybody is invited to partecipate! Just tell me 🙂

Bye Bye!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kamila permalink
    02/10/2010 3:35 pm

    There is no RTM app for symbian phones, but there’s PyS60, and so I’d like to develop an app for the phone. Only, I’m a noob in programming 😀 But I’ll try, and see what comes out of it 😛

    • 02/10/2010 4:38 pm

      That’s a great idea! I would also like to develop such application, so if you need a collaborator just let me know!

  2. austin permalink
    25/08/2010 9:33 am

    Hi..any update. I search “remember the milk”+python and found here..
    I’m expecting a desktop GUI for remember the milk.

    BR,
    Austin

    • 28/08/2010 9:48 pm

      The idea was abandoned because I don’t like to play alone :). The api is also somewhat limited so I leaved my task management to emacs or other online tools that integrates also with my symbian device (memotoo).

Leave a Reply

